News http://www.latymer.co.uk/news.rss The Latymer School News en-us UKMT Intermediate Maths Challenge http://www.latymer.co.uk/news/05032020-ukmt-maths-challenge

On 6th February, 99 students took part in the UKMT Intermediate Maths Challenge. This is a 60 minute multiple choice paper consisting of 25 questions. The majority of the students who took part in this challenge were from Y10.

We had outstanding results for Aarnav (9W) and Ben (10A) who both scored full marks of 135. Alex (8K) achieved the second highest score, which is amazing given that he is in year 8.

Overall, the students did really well. 23 students have qualified to take part in t...

]]>
http://www.latymer.co.uk/news/05032020-ukmt-maths-challenge Thu, 05 Mar 2020 00:00:00 +0000
Chamber Orchestra http://www.latymer.co.uk/news/04032020-chamber-orchestra

On Tuesday 3rd March 2020, Chamber Orchestra performed at the Royal Festival Hall as part of a Rotary in London concert. The orchestra, comprising 22 players from Years 9 to 13, performed Kalinnikov's Serenade for Strings.

]]>
http://www.latymer.co.uk/news/04032020-chamber-orchestra Wed, 04 Mar 2020 00:00:00 +0000
Design & Technology Show Postponed http://www.latymer.co.uk/news/10022020-design-&-technology-show

The DT department is proud to announce the upcoming private view of the GCSE Design & Technology Show. New date to be confirmed.

Students will be showing a wide range of their designs, including lighting, furniture, food bank donation bins and a range of devices to encourage healthy eating!

They have all demonstrated a fantastic blend of creativity and technical ambition to produce a remarkable collection of work, using a wide range of materials and making techniques including 3D printing,...

]]>
http://www.latymer.co.uk/news/10022020-design-&-technology-show Tue, 25 Feb 2020 00:00:00 +0000
Student Spotlight http://www.latymer.co.uk/news/03122019-student-spotlight ]]> http://www.latymer.co.uk/news/03122019-student-spotlight Wed, 12 Feb 2020 00:00:00 +0000 Latymer Chess http://www.latymer.co.uk/news/12022020-latymer-chess

Last week the Latymer chess team faced Haberdashers B in the England Schools Regional Final. The team, comprised of Savas, Eric, Rebecca, Gregor, Rishi, Keefe and Shraddha played some great attacking games and scored 2.5 points to Haberdasher's 3.5 - unfortunately losing with the lowest possible margin.

Latymer will be looking to qualify for the National Finals in May - good luck!

]]>
http://www.latymer.co.uk/news/12022020-latymer-chess Wed, 12 Feb 2020 00:00:00 +0000
Eco Schools http://www.latymer.co.uk/news/06022020-eco-schools

Plans for our eco-schools scheme

As part of our eco-schools scheme here at Latymer we are in the process of improving biodiversity and have planned many exciting projects.

The first part of this has been for students to design garden planters as part of the House competitions. Lots of imaginative designs have been submitted and we are now going to start constructing them.

We are requesting donations of timber, planting membranes, wood preservation paint and much more. If anyone can help w...

]]>
http://www.latymer.co.uk/news/06022020-eco-schools Thu, 06 Feb 2020 00:00:00 +0000
1st Prize Photography http://www.latymer.co.uk/news/04022020-1st-prize-photography

Congratulations to Iman Abedin for receiving 1st prize in the Community Barnet 40th annual photography competition, in the category for Culture and Communities.

]]>
http://www.latymer.co.uk/news/04022020-1st-prize-photography Tue, 04 Feb 2020 00:00:00 +0000
Latymer Laureate http://www.latymer.co.uk/news/31012020-latymer-laureate

The Latymer Laureate Ivan Halpenny has written a poem to highlight the effects of climate change.

Space man
His skin is made of stars they say
That twinkle like the milky way
Satellites orbit his moon ears
Space man’s eyes are planet spheres
His hairs are strings of solar systems
His breath is buzzing telecommunications
His teeth are shattered meteorites
That can’t taste and can’t bite
His hands are swirling galaxies
That hold his galactic fantasies
But space man has a cruel disease...

]]>
http://www.latymer.co.uk/news/31012020-latymer-laureate Fri, 31 Jan 2020 00:00:00 +0000
Careers Fair 2020 http://www.latymer.co.uk/news/24012020-careers-fair-2020

Year 10 and Sixth Form students were privileged to have the opportunity to sit down with a wide range of professionals from a variety of industries. Thank you to Latymer parents, former Latymer students and companies, local and international who gave up their morning to connect with students and pass on such useful advice.

]]>
http://www.latymer.co.uk/news/24012020-careers-fair-2020 Fri, 24 Jan 2020 15:07:00 +0000
Year 9 Conwy Update http://www.latymer.co.uk/news/10012020-year-9-conwy-trip

Year 9 have had a wonderful time away at the Conwy Centre, daily activities ranged from abseiling to hill walking. Photos from the trips can be found here.

]]>
http://www.latymer.co.uk/news/10012020-year-9-conwy-trip Thu, 16 Jan 2020 15:07:00 +0000